San Francisco in 24 hours: An infographic


1344162_59221750
This week I created an infographic for one of my public relations classes. I undoubtedly have the travel bug and as a result, I created an infographic about one of my favorite cities — San Francisco.

A blog post in Mashable defines an infographic as a visual breakdown of data. As the article points out, infographics are on the rise due to social media. Anita Li writes that social communication is “fueling the need for instant results by providing content in bite-size, digestible chunks.” Li makes a valid point; the social media content that receives the most interaction is visual.

There are a variety of design programs that you can use to create an infographic. I used Piktochart for this project. Piktochart is a user-friendly program that provides templates to guide your design. After working with this program, I have some tips to share:

  • Create a design concept for the infographic (e.g., mine is a roadmap)
  • Choose no more than two sans serif fonts to work with
  • Pick five to eight persuasive data or informative points to share
  • Remain consistent with font size, color and images
  • Develop a repetitive image or design element for your audience
  • Build an easy to read, sharply contrasted infographic

Below is the infographic that I created on how to spend 24 hours in San Francisco. My classmate, Lauren Van Neste, created the Golden Gate Bridge image below.

infographic

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “San Francisco in 24 hours: An infographic

  1. elatlboy says:

    Great infographic! Love San Francisco, lots of cool activities you listed favorite being the Golden Gate Bridge.So beautiful.

Leave a comment